Contact details tab

To view the details for a particular contact, click the name of the contact within the contact list. The contact record appears, divided into a number of tabs.

To jump from one tab to another, click the tab name.

Using the Prev and Next buttons, you can browse through all the contacts in the search results.

Across the top of the contact record is a brief overview of the contact's activities, including last login date, and the status of membership, events, and donations.

In the top right corner of the contact record, there is a Financial transactions link. Clicking this link will display all the financial transactions for this contact.

On the Contact details tab, the following information is displayed.

Basic fields that appear on all records for this contact. Common fields include system fields – Member ID, First name, Last name, Organization, Email, and Phone – plus any custom common fields you have added (except those set to administrative access only).

Membership fields
Any custom common fields you have added (except those set to administrative access only).

Login details
Description of the contact's administrative access privileges and the last login date.

Internal use
System generated notes plus any common or membership fields that have been set to administrative access only.

Modifying contact details

From the Contact details tab of a contact record, you can modify contact information, assign access privileges, set passwords, and enter notes.

Modifying common and membership field values

To modify common field values and membership field values for a contact, click the Edit button to the right of the Profile section heading.

You can enter new values in the fields then click the Save button to save your changes.

You can also enter a new password for the contact from this screen.

For instructions on adding, deleting, or renaming common and membership fields, see Adding and modifying database fields.

Setting administrative access privileges

To grant, remove, or change administrator access privileges for the contact, click the Edit button to the right of the Login details heading.

From the Edit login options screen, choose the access privileges to be granted to the contact.

You can choose from the following options:

No administrative privileges
Select this option to remove admin access for existing administrators.

Account administrator (Full access)
Grants full access to all administrative functions. Take care when granting this level of access since full admins can delete other admins and even the entire site.

Account administrator (Read-only access)
Allows viewing of nearly everything in the admin backend without being able to make any changes.

Limited access
Provides administrative access to selected Wild Apricot modules. Use this option if you have dedicated personnel in charge of events, memberships, editing webpages, or managing donations. With this option selected, you can limit access to one of the following roles:

  • Membership manager – can create new contacts, modify all existing ones
  • Event manager – can create and manage all events
  • Donations manager – can manage all donations
  • Website editor – can modify your website pages. With this option selected, you can provide access to all pages on your site or to selected pages. When you grant access to a page, you automatically grant access to all of its child or sub pages.

When you are finishing setting administrator privileges, click the Save button.

When a contact is granted administrator privileges, an email is sent to the contact with links to more information about managing Wild Apricot sites.

For more information, see Managing site administrators.

Changing the password

To change a contact's password from their contact record, go to the Contact details tab and click the Edit button to the right of Login details.

On the screen that appears, enter the new password in the two password fields then click Save.

An email with the new password will not be automatically emailed to the contact.

You can also change a contact's password through import. Contacts can change their own passwords from their profiles. For more information, see Passwords.

Generating and emailing a new password

Instead of setting the password yourself, you can automatically generate and email a new password to the contact. This comes in handy when you add a contact manually.

To generate a password and email it to a contact, clicking the Email new password button from the contact's Contact details tab.

Modifying system-generated notes and internal use fields

To modify system-generated notes and internal use fields (custom fields set to administrator-only access), click the Edit button to the right of the Internal use heading.

From the screen that appears, you modify the values in the notes field and the internal use field(s), then click Save.

Only administrators can view or update system notes and internal use fields.

Archiving contact records

Archived records do not count against your database limit, and are automatically excluded from email blasts, including automatic event notices. Archiving a record is the first step in deleting a record.

To archive a contact record, display the contact record then click the Archive button.

With the record archived, you can now delete it by clicking the Delete button.

For more information, see Deleting and archiving contacts.

Merging contact records

You can merge data from two contact records, so that one record with the combined data remains active and the other record is archived.

As part of the merging process, you select the contact record you want to remain active and the other record to be merged and archived.

You cannot undo the merging of contact records.

To merge two records, start by going to the Contacts tab and clicking on one of the two records – it doesn't matter which. With the one record open, click the Merge button towards the top.

From the window that appears, select the other contact to be merged then click Next then choose which contact record you want to keep active.

For more information, see Merging records.

Screen options

The following options appear at the top of the contact details screen.

  • Account statement - generates an account statement report for the contact. See Account statements.
  • Send email - send an email to this contact.
  • Merge - merge this record with another one. See Merging contacts.
  • Archive - archives the record (the first step in deleting a record). See Archived vs. active records.

Contact tabs

In addition to the Contact Details tab, there are other tabs that allow you to view or update additional information and settings associated with the contact.

These tabs include:

  • Membership – View/edit member details like membership level, member status, renewal date etc.
  • Events – View/edit events the contact has registered for, or register for new events.
  • Donations – View/edit/record new donations for this contact.
  • Email settings and log – Turn emails on/off, view log of emails sent to the contact.
  • Privacy – Control who can view information about this contact.
  • Photos – Allow or prevent member from adding photo albums to their profile.

Any tabs that have a pending action (awaiting payment on a donation, or approval on a membership application) have a yellow warning icon ( ) beside their name.

Once you jump to that that page, the information that requires your attention will be indicated with the same icon.


Please sign in to leave a comment.


About results ( seconds) Sort by: 
Sorry, an error occured when performing search.
Wild Apricot Inc. 
144 Front Street West 
Suite 725 
Toronto, Ontario M5J 2L7